Bucket List: Riga

Riga is the capital of one of the enchanting Baltic states: Latvia.  This city needs to be on your bucket list. (So do the other Baltic States: Estonia & Lithuania but first…) I could go into detail and tell you why Riga needs to be your next destination. Explain the history of how the town came to be, the world-renowned art district that tourists flock to each year, the charming and boldly colored architecture found throughout the winding and wobbly cobblestone alleys. Walking through Riga in like walking through the pages of a fairytale but instead of me telling you why Riga should be on your bucket list, let me show you 📸😉

bucket list_.jpgfda

Visit the Art Nouveau District

IMG_4932.jpg

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_b3d0

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Aimlessly stroll down Albert Street, don’t forget to look up

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Marvel at St. Peters Church (bonus: go inside and climb up for a view of the city)

IMG_4684

Visit the oldest buildings in Riga: Three Brothers House

IMG_9923

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_b33eBucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Go on the Free Walking Tour of Old Town
(this is us walking to the free walking tour)

IMG_9938

Riga Cathedral

IMG_4728

Walk through Kronvalda Park

IMG_4938.jpg

IMG_9932

Visit the Nativity Cathedral

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, LatviaBucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Stand in front of the Freedom Monument (bonus: watch the changing of the guards)

IMG_4787IMG_4788

Get lost in the Riga Central Market  (bonus: eat everything!)

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

 

 

Touch the musicians of Breman

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, LatviaBucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Learn the story of the Black Cats of Riga

IMG_4953.jpg

Walk down Rozena Street ( the shortest & narrowest road in Riga)

Version 2

Visit the House of the Blackheads

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Meander around Old Town and pretend you are in a fairytale

IMG_4710.jpg

IMG_4707

UNADJUSTEDNONRAW_thumb_b346

Try black balsam

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia
Peace out Riga ✌🏽

 

Have you been to Riga, Latvia before? What did you include on your bucket list? Would love to hear your thoughts.

Bucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latviabucket list_.jpgfdaRIGA.LATVIABucket List: Riga | Chasing Krista | Riga, Latvia

28 thoughts on “Bucket List: Riga

  1. Thanks for sharing this photoessay of Riga. It looks like you had some really nice weather. We got rained on but didn’t let that stop us from checking out all the great Art Nouveau architecture. We discovered Folkklubs ALA Pagrabs when we visited Latvia. It’s a fantastic music pub where we got to listen to what felt like a cross between folk and heavy metal music. This memory still sticks with me 5 years after we visited Riga!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Wow! I hadn’t considered Riga before, but your pictures piqued my interest-thank you! I will definitely add Riga to my list moving forward!

    Like

  3. You know how much I love Riga 😁😁 I didn’t know they started a free walking tour there! How was it?

    One of my favorite eating experiences is hidden on one of the side streets in Riga: the garlic restaurant! Everything is garlic and, admittedly, maybe not the best food, but it’s a fun experience if you have a garlic obsession! 🤗

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The tour was pretty good! full of history and cool stories (where I learned the story of the black cat!) I LOVE garlic, love is an understatement. I guess you both have to go back, ill take you on the tour and you take me to that garlic restaurant

      Like

  4. Beautiful photos! Riga looks absolutely magical, and your post has made me beyond excited about my upcoming trip to the city next week!

    Like

  5. This article blew my mind – I honestly never knew about Latvia and Riga is so picturesque, how is this not a more popular tourist city?!

    Like

  6. This looks incredibly beautiful and I see why you recommend Riga to be on the bucketlist. I have been a sucker of beautiful colorful buildings and the reason why I also love Austria. Riga is equally pretty!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ooh Riga looks so beautiful! I had a friend live in Latvia for a few years and he just raved about it. Judging by your pictures, I can totally see myself falling in love. The buildings, the streets, the market…ALL of it! And is that a cute magnet with the market? Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.